MexEx 2006

Welcome to the CAS MexEx blog! We thirteen Berkeley High students and four fantastic teachers are in Morelia, Michoacán for three weeks, studying Spanish and learning how to be true media activists. We are working with ten Mexican students to create videos about various social issues, including the national elections on July 2. Please check this site daily for new updates. Click on the MexEx PHOTOS link on the right to access our pics.

Thursday, June 29, 2006

Hortensia

June 29, 2006
HORTENSIA SULEEMAN

I AM SO MAD. TODAY I WAS WALKING WITH NORA, MATT, AND GALNADGEE and Galnadgee stepped on dog shit today and wiped it on my jeans. It wasn’t much but I still got so mad that I just ignored him. I think that he’s pretty upset and sad. But he deserved it. And I’m just being mean. Although I think that it’s partly my fault. I jinxed it. In that lady’s house where we had Clase de Cocina, I said, “happy birthday galnadgee in case I get mad at you.” I was kidding but I think I jinxed it. If I didn’t say that it probably wouldn’t have happened.

ANYWAYS. Yesterday, Me, David, Daniel, Thomas, and 2 other Mexican Students went to the movies and watched POSEIDON. The place was SO NICE and the tickets were like 22 Pesos, US$2.20 because Wednesday was 2 for 1 day. IT WAS SO CHEAP. It was a pretty good movie too. I took some Myspace pictures. Then I went home. That’s it. This morning, I ate scrambled eggs con chorizo. It was SO SALTY. Then Thomas and I were late for CCL because of some confusion we had. LOST IN TRANSLATION. Not really.

I’m so sad. But I JUST WANT TO GO BACK TO BERKELEY AND DO WHATEVER I WANT TO DO… this afternoon, when we went to the cooking class, Assata talked about the stuff she misses about Berkeley. To list a few: BAJA FRESH (2 huge burritos for $5.95), KING DONG restaurant (call-in from 3rd period and get lunch early, don’t have to wait in line. And also the vegetarian food.), COLDSTONE, and so on.

I forgave Galnadgee. It wasn’t a big deal. And we just got back from shooting videos en el centro and other places, and at the bus stop a MOSQUITO (I think it was a mosquito) flew into my eye. It was PAINFUL. It hurt so much. Anyways, I think I’m going to go home now. Although I don’t feel like it. I miss my iPod. I’m not going to have entertainment for 3 whole weeks. THE FIRST WEEK IS ALMOST OVER… and we still have 2 weeks to go. THIS WEEK HAS BEEN GOING BY SOOOO SLOWLY. Why???

Honestly, I miss school. Just because of water. And the freedom of being able to do anything I want and going to places I usually go to. I’m just not used to the pollution and dangerous water and drinking juice or soda everyday. I AM SICK of juice and soda. That’s why I’m always happy to come to the teachers’ house because I could drink water there and see my friends.

I really have to go home. I don’t want to. I’m going to be sooo bored. I’ll write 6 more pages in my journal.

LOVE,
H-O-R-T-E-N-S-I-A

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home