MexEx 2006

Welcome to the CAS MexEx blog! We thirteen Berkeley High students and four fantastic teachers are in Morelia, Michoacán for three weeks, studying Spanish and learning how to be true media activists. We are working with ten Mexican students to create videos about various social issues, including the national elections on July 2. Please check this site daily for new updates. Click on the MexEx PHOTOS link on the right to access our pics.

Thursday, July 06, 2006

Assata

Hello … this is Assata again …ummm I don’t really know what to say but I wore my hair in and afro and it was amazingly beautiful and all the Mexicans stared …what a wonderful day … I basically did that because I did watch Malcolm x the night before that’s hella crazy they show Malcolm x more in Mexico than they do in America …. Well yes Mexico is pretty fun except for my host mom she lightweight scares me … I guess the Spanish is going pretty well I could be learning a lot more than I am and I should make more of an effort but im not but I will …. One insight that I had about life is that you can truly do what u want but u have to make the descion that you are going to achieve what you want to do but you will never truly accomplish anything by simply trying and this probli sounds hella random but it does relate to Mexico ….in the sense of not trying my hardest to become better at Spanish but making the decision that im going 2 become a lot better at Spanish…and now I just have to start takin my own advice… but anyways…..i want 2 tell everyone about that sexy Chicago Mexican guy that I will marry but I didn’t find out his name but that’s ok …. So I guess im lightweight looking forward to going home and jus having down time wit friends and playing some volleyball …(getting in shape)
Earlier this week I was having a conversation with one of my fellow CASmates who is in the beginners level Spanish with me and all of us are of African American descent and I was talking about how I think that its a lot harder for black ppl 2 learn Spanish or anyone who is not white because of the fact that we speak a different type of English and not necessarily that the English is ebonics but in some way of another most black people don’t speak perfect English . And he really disagreed with me on that he said its because maybe we don’t work as hard as them but I really don’t think that’s it. Back in my Spanish class the majority of the ppl that were decent /really good were white and I think its because they already speak English well and in school they teach the proper Spanish which I think nobody uses but that’s not the point . I don’t think that it wasn’t that I didn’t work as hard as the other student who have taken the same amount of Spanish of me but its because you cant relate 2 that Spanish and you cant translate your own vernacular into that “proper Spanish” . I was kinda thinking about the future of CAS and how they are trying to combine all levels of Spanish together but Im kinda started to believe in segregations and the fact that if you are on the same level of someone and you speak the same vernacular you should learn with these types of students because you cant learn in a place where you feel inferior you learn with people that are like you and speak your language and understand what you go through on a daily basis … and Im not so sure that its good that we even integrate the students at a Spanish level maybe we shouldn’t have integration within education at all but now im just getting ahead of myself and maybe this could be an amazing thing we are really putting are heads together and trying something to make this work and get rid of the racism within Berkeley high school and we will never know if we don’t try!

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home